Skip to main content

Rio Texas

2022 Summer Registration Open Now

We would love for you to join us in mission and ministry in the upcoming mission season. Please see the Mission Opportunities at the bottom of this page for the most current information. 



2022 U.M. ARMY Mission Week Information is here; reach out to Jenny Monahan for details 512.557.0513 [email protected]

Texas Ramps Project served as a GREAT partner in mission this summer.  They funded 13 ramps for us...9 in San Antonio and 4 in Brownsville.  They also connected us to neighbors that needed our help in Corpus Christi where we built three wheelchair ramps.

The Transforming Communities Vision Team of the Rio Texas Conference has met and reviewed our application for Advance project status:

I am pleased to let you know that your application was approved and this month the U.M. ARMY Rio Texas was added to our online Advance catalog on the Rio Texas Conference website.  Unless there are major changes to your project, you will be listed through December 2024 and then will need to reapply for the next four-year period.

As an Advance project you are eligible to seek contributions from United Methodist churches and individuals within the bounds of the Conference.  Your project number is 2026.

U.M. ARMY Refund Policy

As U.M. ARMY and local churches are all adapting to an uncertain and changing world, the U.M. ARMY Board has enacted a new, uniform Refund Policy in an effort to establish financial expectations that protect both U.M. ARMY and the local church. Please contact your Regional Director if you have any questions. 

We look forward to being in ministry with you!


Fee and Payment Schedule:

Registration Fee Per Person Per 6-7 Day Week - $275

Registration Fee Per Person Per 5 Day Week - $225

Group Registration requires a $25 Application Fee to offset pre-camp administration costs and use of the online system

  • Within 30 days of registration – Group Deposit equaling $75 per person due (non-refundable)
    • If registering on/after March 1, deposit ($75/person) payment is due at time of registration
  • April 1 - Group Count Covenant -- Regional Director will confer with Participating Church Coordinator to complete Covenant and confirm participation numbers
  • May 1 - for June camps; June 1 - for July camps - Final payment due

The number of participants in a group may be increased (as availability permits) or decreased, with confirmation from the Regional Director.  Paid individual participants may request to be transferred to a different week within the same mission season.  Any and all requests must be submitted in writing (email, fax, or letter).

In the event of a group cancellation before April 1st, the full Registration Fee, minus the group deposit, can be refunded. After April 1, any individual cancellation that decreases the number committed to in the covenant described above, will result in the entirety of that individual deposit being forfeited without written approval of the Regional Director.

Any cancellation of a group or participant within two (2) weeks of camp will not receive a refund.

For questions about this policy, please email or call your specific Regional Director.

Extenuating Circumstances

In the event of a cancellation of mission weeks by U.M. ARMY, a full refund will be provided upon request.

In the event of the necessity of an individual participant cancellation for circumstances, including, but not limited to illness, accident or unforeseen emergency, transfers of funds to the remaining mission week balances may be considered at the discretion of the Regional Director.

Upcoming Mission Opportunities

Location Dates Mission Type
Boerne - U.M. ARMY Local March 13 - 19, 2022 Mixed Age

Completed 6th-12th Grade

Seadrift May 22 - 28, 2022 College/Young Adult Register
Cathedral Oaks June 5 - 10, 2022 Mixed Age

Completed 6th-12th Grade

TBA June 12 - 16, 2022 BASIC

Middle School

McAllen June 12 - 17, 2022 High School

Participants must have completed 8th grade or higher

Hondo June 19 - 25, 2022 High School

Participants must have completed 8th grade or higher

TBA June 26 - July 1, 2022 Mixed Age

Completed 6th-12th Grade

San Antonio July 17 - 23, 2022 High School

Participants must have completed 8th grade or higher

View past missions »

Latest News

Giving Tuesday November 24, 2021 — National

On November 30, 2021, theworld willcelebrate#GivingTuesday, a global giving event encouraging people from around the world to a support a non-profit organization of their choosing, like U.M. ARMY! …

Virtual Valentines 5K February 4, 2021 — National

U.M. ARMY invites you and your family and friends to support U.M. ARMY missions and register for the U.M. ARMY Virtual Valentines 5K. Register to run a virtual 5K or one mile family fun walk the…

God @ Work: Creating November 4, 2020 — National

God @ Work: Creating! During the summer of 2020 U.M. ARMY made the decision to REIMAGINE our summer mission models due to the pandemic. We provided two models: we worked with church partners in…

U.M. ARMY Fall/Winter Weekend Local Mission Opportunities August 28, 2020 — National

U.M. ARMY continues to Re-imagine Mission and Ministry during the COVID-19 Pandemic! This summer we had incredible mission experiences in local communities that engaged youth, young adults, adult…

Read older articles »

Youth Advisory Board

Each year U.M. ARMY-Rio TX is blessed by the selfless time and gifts that our youth advisory board members (aka YABbers) provide.

YABbers attend two mission opportunities each summer – one with their home church and another as a peer leader. Each day they train in a different leadership position, learning the skills and gaining the experience necessary to lead every aspect of the mission week.

Our goal is that these students will one day be directors!

Potential YABbers must meet the requirement of attending at least one year of High School U.M. ARMY and then go through an application process that includes recommendations from their youth pastor.

Look out for our next YAB Team!

2018 Rio TX YAB


A note from Regional Director Jenny Monahan:


Prayer has always been an essential part of the success of our U.M. ARMY mission weeks and this year with the threat of Covid as well as other calamities in this broken world, I upped my prayer time/game for our mission season.  In addition to asking others to pray with me for the safety of all of our participants at camp and asking God to reveal himself to all at camp, I prayed daily by name for each participant serving.  It is clear that God was with us in mission as we did not have any covid outbreaks and their were only a few scrapes, scratches and bites this season with all going home happy, healthy and in a closer relationship with God and those whom they served alongside.  The youth, adult participants and neighbors were hungry to be back together and the worships that I was able to enjoy were very deep, highly spirited with the youth praising our Lord through song and dance, youth led prayers, skits, and smiles/giggles!  My heart is full from my week of service in Corpus Christi as well as seeing and hearing from all the other U.M. ARMY mission camps this season.  I will continue to pray daily for U.M. ARMY and now ask you to join in prayer with me for God to reveal where, who, how, we are to serve in 2022 through High School, Middle School, Mixed Age, Young Adult and Family mission trips throughout the Rio and Central Texas Conference of the UMC

Board of Directors

Name Title Contact
Jenny Monahan Regional Director
Jason Surdy President
Bonnie Bevers Vice President
Heidi Stone Treasurer
Aiden Diaz
Shawn Dubler
David Griffith
Joy Hall
Todd Jones
Jackie Morgan
Matt Ortiz
Misty Touchet
Kathey Adams National Board Representative
Jay Watson National Board Representative
Bonnie Beavers National Board Representative
Back to Top